profile

photos

guestbook

101 things

quilt

@

cast

bio

host

previous

current

archive

next

review page

The Scientologist
2003-05-26 - 4:15 p.m.


Still thinking... don't want to write about what I was thinking about so I re-did my biography page and changed the design. I never liked any of the templates I designed myself so I chose one from a design site instead. I just customized by playing about with the colors so it looked like a pretty little rainbow.

Whilst "not being on the internet" (i.e. not going to normal haunts such as message boards and activating MSN & Yahoo messengers) for the past 48 hours, I have been doing some fascinating research into scientology. I've already worked my way through Christianity so it was time for a complete contrast. (by the way, I do this 'research' completely for myself - I am fascinated by organised religions and plan to do a doctorate in theology one day).

Scientology is really hard to understand - not because it's scientifically unfathomable, but because the organization is being deliberately vague about what their religion is about. Mostly though I came across sites that were panning scientology. Apparently there is a "War on the Internet" to make people aware of scientology and it's "lies, law breaking, murder" etc, therefore preventing people from joining the religion/cult.

I still haven't gathered what the religion itself is actually about - so I ordered a couple of books from amazon written by the founder of Scientology (funny, seeing as I'm sure I read that the religion was 50,000 years old) L. Ron Hubbard who was once quoted as saying "Why write for a penny a word when all a man needs to do to make millions is start his own reigion". Several years later - he did do. Fascinating stuff.

Anyway, if anyone else has any interesting insights into this subject or know of any reliable resources, please let me know.

N x

music:
mood:


all words �NFH 2003
hits: